Return to Headlines

Deadline Extended: Phyllis Ganser Outstanding PTA Volunteer of the Year Award

March 18, 2019


Dear District 65 PTAs and School Leaders:


We invite you to honor an outstanding PTA volunteer from your school community by nominating him or her for the 2019 Phyllis Ganser Outstanding PTA Volunteer of the Year Award. We know that all of our Evanston/Skokie schools have many exceptional volunteers. A nomination for this award is a special acknowledgment of dedication and service. We are looking for nominees who meet the criteria listed on the attached nomination form.


The winner and all nominees of this honorary award will be announced at the May School Board meeting. The name of the winner will be publicized in the local media, and his or her name will be added to a plaque displayed at the District 65 JEH Center honoring all recipients.


In 2000, the Evanston/Skokie Council of PTAs established an annual volunteer award to honor the life of Phyllis Ganser, a devoted volunteer at Walker School. Phyllis attended Evanston/Skokie schools and was the mother of three children who attended Walker, Chute and ETHS. Until her death in January 2000, Phyllis was a tireless PTA volunteer who set a high standard for dedication to our community of children. In her various roles, Phyllis always made a point of seeking out volunteers who addressed the needs of all children. We are pleased to have the opportunity to honor her memory in this way.


The nomination form is available as a sharable google doc. Please share it with your school community. Please submit forms no later than April 17, 2019.

Thank you so much for this opportunity to honor your dedicated volunteer.


The Phyllis Ganser Outstanding PTA Volunteer of the Year Award Committee


Miriam Barnett, Chair      Sue Ganser Levinson
Jodie Ford                         Katy Hart
DonnaLee Floeter            Lohra Vogel
Deborah Wood                Corky Siegfriedt