Return to Headlines

Congrats to the 2023 Justin Wynn Award recipients!

Each spring, the Justin Wynn Fund honors fourth grade students from each of the District 65 schools. The Justin Wynn Award recipients are chosen by their teachers and administrators for demonstrating outstanding leadership, citizenship, and sportsmanship.

The Justin Wynn Fund 36th Annual Awards Ceremony was held May 7, 2023. Attendees at the ceremony included teachers, principals and assistant principals from District 65, along with D65 Assistant Superintendent of Schools Dr. Angel Turner, D202 Superintendent Dr. Marcus Campbell, and Mayor Daniel Biss.

The award is in memory of Justin Wynn, a D65 student who died in a swimming accident in 1987. For more information, visit the Justin Wynn Fund website.

Justin Wynn Award Recipients

2023 Justin Wynn Award recipients:

Bessie Rhodes: Grace Rivera and Pedro Vazquez
Dawes: Oluwadarasimi Odufuwa and Alexis Adeboye Shofolabo
Dewey: Vidhya Kelly and Daniella Sariñana
King Arts: Mya Brackenridge and Kylie Smith
Kingsley: Jeremiah Duncan and Addy Howell
Lincoln: Kinsley Bowman and Nate Vogel-Brown
Lincolnwood: Colette Denzin and George MacKay
Oakton: Skylar Moreno and Jordyn Woods
Orrington: Colette Cox and Andrea Puggioni
Park: Nathan Simpson
Walker: Phoenix Clark and Reilly Pope
Washington: Willow Steiger-Smith and Romero Velthuizen Varela
Willard: Raziel Serpa and Penny Sharma

Photo credit: EPS - George Pfoertner