Return to Headlines

School Board Election Results

Para poder ver esta información en español,
por favor diríjase a la parte superior de esta página y seleccione la opción "Español" debajo de la opción "Elija un idioma."  
On April 4, Evanston/Skokie community members casted ballots for five open seats on the District 65 School Board. The following candidates received the most votes and will serve four-year terms - Candance Chow (incumbent) with 11,226 votes; Lindsay Cohen with 11,042 votes, Joseph Hailpern with 9,710 votes, and Suni Kartha (incumbent) with 9,572 votes. Anya Tanyavutti (incumbent) ran unopposed with 13,897 votes and was elected to serve a two-year term. The new board will be seated at a Special Meeting on May 1. At this meeting, departing board members Claudia Garrison and Tracy Quattrocki will be recognized for their service.


Ms. Chow is currently President of the District 65 School Board, was the Board liaison in developing the District’s five-year strategic plan, and has served as Chair of the Board’s Finance Committee. Her priorities for the next four years are ensuring academic success for all students through a whole-child focus, and achieving financial stability and accountability for equitable outcomes. Ms. Chow holds an M.B.A. and is a consultant to non-profit organizations.

Ms. Cohen holds an M.B.A., has started and sold two businesses, and is operating a third start-up business with friends. During the campaign, she stressed that she wants to help ensure the long-term financial sustainability of the District and ensure that the District’s tax dollars are being spent wisely. She said she wants to help to set each child for success in this rapidly changing world.

Mr. Hailpern is a principal of a school in the North Shore. He said his goals include increasing equity and access, particularly for groups that have a history of being marginalized in society. He says he is committed to the Evanston tradition of providing an engaging and welcoming school environment for all children, including children with disabilities or learning differences.

Ms. Kartha, a lawyer, is Chair of the District’s Policy Committee. She says the District is on a path to address systemic inequities in the schools, focusing on the development of the well-being of the whole child and ensuring that the schools are safe and supportive space for students, their families and staff. “It’s my priority to ensure that we continue that journey in a robust and meaningful way,” she said.

Ms. Tanyavutti has 15 years experience as a teacher and head of a non-profit community school program in Chicago. Her priorities are maintaining high academic standards and rigor for students, working to build fiscal stability and sustainability, and working to ensure a culture and climate of inclusivity. Education: B.A., Elementary Education, M. Ed., Socio-Cultural Studies and Educational Thought, Western Michigan University; Fulbright Scholar, 2003, Senegal, West Africa, as part of a curriculum development team. Employment: Small-business owner. Current member of District 65 School Board, running for two-year term. Previous employment: 15 years’ experience as teacher and head of a nonprofit Community School program in Chicago; managing youth development programs, teaching at the elementary level, and offering strategic planning consultation.

(bio information source: Evanston Roundtable)