Skip To Main Content



African-American Youth Achievement Awards Honor 33 D65 Students
AAYA Ceremony 2024

Last week, Evanston Township High School hosted the 27th annual African-American Youth Achievement (AAYA) Awards to honor 41 African-American students from Evanston/Skokie public schools.

Students were recognized in a ceremony on February 8, 2024, for their daily actions that pay homage to the visions and legacy of African-American pioneers. Through initiative and perseverance, each awardee has excelled in character, civility, community service, leadership, scholarship, or sportsmanship.

2024 Evanston/Skokie District 65 AAYA Recipients:

  • Bessie Rhodes: Ji Aire Bamberg and Leah Grant
  • Chute: Olivia Jean-Pierre and Jaxx Watson
  • Dawes: Trent Bondon and Nylah Patton
  • Dewey: Stefani Lee Duroseau and Elijah Singleton
  • Haven: Cayden Cunningham and Alicea Stuart
  • King Arts: Reign Lewis and Isiah Wynn
  • Kingsley: Kaleb Horton and Amy Paddyfoot
  • Lincoln: Annecia Johnson and Derrick (DJ) Seivright
  • Lincolnwood: Jacari Ross and Keyourah Stanciel
  • Nichols: Shayla Hunt and Wayne Levy
  • Oakton: Kenneth Drew and Brooklynn Watson
  • Orrington: Sydney Gardner and Tyler Garriques
  • Park: Glen Humes and Aaliyah McGowan
  • Rice: Brandon S. Pommells
  • Walker: Kayden Harris and Khultum Salaam
  • Washington: Bereket Daniel and Makayla Mack
  • Willard: Alay’Jah Lane and DaeShaun Tinch

2024 ETHS District 202 AAYA Recipients:

  • Grade 12: Winston Gilbert Flowers, Jr. and Mya Nichell Shephard
  • Grade 11: Kari Alexander Robinson and Solomon Thomas Taylor
  • Grade 10: Amaya Kayla Johnson and Andrew Asafa Jones
  • Grade 9: Makhi Alexander Bryan and Chazahyah Bithyah Hawkins Burgess

As part of the AAYA program, the Living Legend-Trailblazer Award honors African-American Evanstonians for their leadership and community contributions that encourage and inspire African-American youth. The 2024 recipients of the Living Legend-Trailblazer Award are Clarence and Wendy Weaver.