• District 65 STEM Department
     
    Welcome to the newly-formed District 65 STEM Department! Our expectation is that all students will receive a challenging STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) educational experience so that they are prepared for future college and career success.

    While STEM education is a major priority in national education reform, its definition varies across the nation. In District 65, we are in the midst of developing our STEM strategy. Our draft STEM Education definition and mission form the foundation for our work.
     
    D65 STEM Education Defined
    STEM is an acronym for four related and interconnected disciplines: the study of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. STEM education provides all learners with experiences that take advantage of the clear connections between all of these disciplines and practices. This fosters inquiry-based approaches to learning and problem-solving academically and in everyday life. In D65, the purpose of STEM education is to develop "STEM-thinkers" and "STEM-doers."
     
    D65 STEM Education Mission
    The D65 STEM Department collaborates with fellow educators and community partners to create experiences for all learners to persistently explore their world and apply methods of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics toward problems worth solving. Through these pursuits, we strive to prepare each student to achieve academically, grow personally, and become globally-engaged citizens.

    An excellent STEM education, with the core of mathematics and science as its major focus, will enhance students' lives and our community. Thank you in advance for your support and advocacy of a high-quality STEM education for all of our students.
     
    D65 STEM Team
     Name  Email  Responsibilities
     David Wartowski  wartowskid@district65.net  STEM Director
     Tina Jackson  jacksont@district65.net  Administrative Support
     Sounya Radhakrishnan  radhakrishnans@district65.net  Mathematics Specialist (K-5)
     Claire Hiller  hillerc@district65.net  Math Instructional Coach (4-8)
     Andrea Macksood  macksooda@district65.net  Math Instructional Coach (K-3)
     Patti Satz  satzp@district65.net  Math Instructional Coach (K-2)
     Kelly Rooney  rooneyk@district65.net  Math Instructional Coach (4-8)