• Common Core State Standards

    A child reading a book.  The Common Core State Standards (CCSS) were adopted by the State of Illinois in 2010. These standards for reading, writing, speaking and listening, and language attend to critical thinking through speech, reading and writing. The CCSS also addresses literacy skills as an integrated effort across the disciplines so that students develop their skills in context.

    Additional information about the Common Core State Standards as adopted in Illinois can be found via the Illinois State Board of Education website


    CCSS Grade-specific Parent Roadmaps




    Jardin de Niños / Kindergarten

    Grade 1

    1er grado

    Grade 2

    2do grado

    Grade 3

    3er grado

    Grade 4

    4to grado

    Grade 5

    5to grado

    Grade 6

    6to grado

    Grade 7 

    7mo grado

    Grade 8

    8vo grado


    These roadmaps include examples of grade-level focus in the content area, sample progressions of learning across three grade levels in the Common Core, and tips to parents on communicating with teachers about their child’s work and how to support student learning at home.